Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Books Without Romance

t5w

So this one is fun, and by fun I mean difficult. I’m a sucker for some good romance, but there’s something about a story that doesn’t focus on it that’s really nice to read. I’m gonna admit that there’s basically no way I could come up with 5 that have no romance, so there’s a few but some also just have small amounts of it thrown in. I also feel like there’s some books on this list that most people won’t agree with when it comes to lack of romance but this is just my opinion. If you’re new to T5W then the link to the Goodreads group is right here! (I think I cheated by including some middle grade but like…it doesn’t say we can’t)

72193.jpg
five//
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
So this one is definitely a bit of a cheat but since there is romance later on in the series I feel like it’s okay. I still think that this is one of the best start to a series, and I love reading all about my little darlings when they’re just babies still. Such a good book, with no romance, especially when it comes to the main characters.

 

 

1017409.jpg
four//
Irish Chain by Barbara Haworth Attard
This is another one that’s a middle grade book but it’s one of my all time favourite books and it has no romance. It’s a historical fiction story that takes place in Halifax during WWI and is a heartbreaking story about a young girls journey after dealing with a tragedy.

17735579.jpg
three//
A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann
I will fully admit that I don’t fully remember the plot of this book but I definitely don’t remember there being any romance. It’s a paranormal/horror story that’s really creepy, a bit messed up and kind of gruesome. Definitely not a romance book, but still really good.

21414439
two//
Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
I feel like this book was marketed as a story that focuses on the friendships instead of the romance and I really think it lives up to the hype. This is a really good book, with some totally badass main characters and some awesome friendships. There’s definitely hints of romance to come, but I don’t think there was too much in this one.

1451694.jpg
one//
Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
This is going to seem really stupid, especially since this is literally a romance series but I really think that this first book is just setting up the story and building up for the romance to come. I know that it definitely happens in later books, and I’m excited for it, but this one is mostly worldbuilding in my eyes. Still so good though.

Leave a Reply

