Uncategorized

The Backlist Wishlist

wegt.png

Let’s talk about the backlist! I know that as a book community we’re all really obsessed with new releases, and I totally support that. There are so many amazing books that are coming out, books by diverse authors that tackle important subjects, and we really need to focus on giving those books the attention they deserve. There are definitely some books that have been out for a while that are, hopefully, worth the read though. I decided to go through and find some that I’ve wanted to read for a while, some are the last in a series or just by authors that I really love, and some are just ones that sound interesting. Let me know if there’s anything that’s been hanging out on your backlist for a while that you want to pick up!

Resurrection (Ripper #3) by Amy Carol Reeves
This is a trilogy that I’ve been meaning to finish forever, I loved the first two books, I mean historical fiction with serial killers and a paranormal element? I’m so here for that. The first two books were really well written and fast paced easy reads, I love how much detail is included and how atmospheric they are and I really need to get my hands on this last one and do a reread.

Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick
I used to be such a big fan of Sedgwick, I’ve read a few of his books and loved them. They’re generally really dark and a bit gruesome, but so well done and really memorable. This one seems like the perfect thing to read on a dreary fall afternoon, it sounds so dark and like it’ll just suck you in. Definitely need to get to this one and his other books that I haven’t picked up yet.

Bitten (Women of the Otherworld) by Kelley Armstrong
This is one of those books that I’ve wanted to read for about 10 years, so who knows if I’ll ever actually pick it up, but I want to! This one is a classic when it comes to urban fantasy, and it’s such a massive series. I think there was a show based on it too? I also really enjoy her writing, so I think that this would be a really fun book to pick up, especially since we’re about 10 years out from the big werewolf craze.

Exile (Aurelia #2) by Anne Osterlund
I adoreddddd the first book in this series but I didn’t know that there was more than one until quite a while after so I never got around to picking this one up. I loved the first one so much though, and the way it ended was good but definitely left room for more so I’d love to reread that one and then get to this one!

The Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney
This one is about faeries, we know how I feel about stories with faeries, I need this one. I really feel like it could go anyway based on the synopsis but I’m optimistic that it’ll be a good read, it looks like it’s a trilogy as well, which is always fun. Honestly I just love books about the fae enough to want to try this one, pretty simple.

Entwined by Heather Dixon
I love a good retelling, I also love stories about princesses and cunning traps so this one sounds pretty great. The cover is gorgeous and I’ve read some reviews that make it sound like a really great read, I also love a good standalone. I’m very intrigued by the vague synopsis and I’d love to get drawn into the story.

Fateful by Claudia Gray
I’m such a fan of Claudia Gray, I love her Evernight series and the Firebird trilogy, so I trust her writing completely. The synopsis for this one sounds amazing, dark and twisty and with so many elements, I really think it’d be well done though. Historical fiction and the supernatural with some romance and mystery? What more do you need honestly.

What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell
There’s not much that I enjoy more than some good historical fiction and this one looks like a really good book. It’s not often that you see stories that take place right after WWII, and this one seems like it’ll be full of mystery and twists and romance. It really seems like the type of book that I wouldn’t be able to put down, will definitely be picking this one up in the fall sometime.

Leave a Reply

