Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Urban Fantasy Books

Untitled 1

Another week, another top 5 Wednesday, I really liked this one and I hope that I got the genre right for these. This is definitely a genre that I need to read more of because I do really enjoy it. Let me know your favourite urban fantasy books! If you want more info on T5W then the link to the Goodreads group is right here!

20759393five// The Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole
This one is at number five for multiple reasons, I have no idea if this is urban fantasy and I kind of hate talking about these books because although I enjoy them, they are awful. So many bad messages and tropes and scenes and ugh. But anyways it’s a series about a normal girl that finds out she’s a pawn in a game that’s been played for centuries? Basically the apocalypse hits and all the players need to fight to the death until the next round of the game.

42899four// The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward
Totally a classic series, and I have no idea if they’re actually urban fantasy but I feel like they might be so we’re just gonna go with it! This is definitely a romance series and one of the main points is people finding out that there’s supernatural creatures out there and them having to deal with that knowledge. There’s also an evil organization torturing and killing people so I mean it’s not all romance.

504698.jpgthree// The Blood Ties Series by Jennifer Armintrout
I read this one over ten years ago, in the height of the vampire craze that was going on. I don’t remember every single thing that happened but I’m pretty sure it involves our main character getting turned into a vampire and then dealing with all this new knowledge and power. You know, the usual.

25659436.jpgtwo// Nightstruck by Jenna Black
This book was so messed up, and I loved it. Our main character ends up accidentally unleashing something dark and supernatural into the world and from that point on the only goal is to stay alive. It’s dark and gruesome and twisted and I loved every second of it.

6402666one// The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning
I’m currently reading this series and really enjoying it! We’ve got a main character who travels to Ireland to investigate her sisters murder and ends up finding out that she’s a sidhe-seer, someone that can see Fae in our world. The story really takes off from there, she ends up teaming up with other people that are aware of the paranormal and the series just seems to be a bunch of mysteries we need to solve. There’s also a hint of romance (I’m waiting for there to be more because COME ON) and lots of supernatural happenings.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Urban Fantasy Books”

Leave a comment