Uncategorized

Review: Odd & True by Cat Winters

Untitled 6.png

28078791

Title: Odd & True
Author: Cat Winters
Publication Date: September 12, 2017
Pages: 358
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Trudchen grew up hearing Odette’s stories of their monster-slaying mother and a magician’s curse. But now that Tru’s older, she’s starting to wonder if her older sister’s tales were just comforting lies, especially because there’s nothing fantastic about her own life—permanently disabled and in constant pain from childhood polio.

In 1909, after a two-year absence, Od reappears with a suitcase supposedly full of weapons and a promise to rescue Tru from the monsters on their way to attack her. But it’s Od who seems haunted by something. And when the sisters’ search for their mother leads them to a face-off with the Leeds Devil, a nightmarish beast that’s wreaking havoc in the Mid-Atlantic states, Tru discovers the peculiar possibility that she and her sister—despite their dark pasts and ordinary appearances—might, indeed, have magic after all.” (source)

I’m a massive fan of Cat Winters and this was one of my most anticipated releases for 2017 so I’m very glad to report that it was everything I wanted it to be. I fell in love with her YA debut and although her last couple books have fallen a bit flat, this one has that extra something that I’ve been waiting for!

One of my favourite things about her books is how she writes historical America, and this one is no different. She gives you just enough information to really feel like you’re in Oregon in the early 1900’s without overloading you with useless facts. I could vividly picture every single setting in this book, from an olive grove in California to a forest in New Jersey and a Portland train station, it was all so well done and I loved falling into the story.

Another thing that really shines in this book is how well she writes female characters, there’s so many in this book and they all shine in different and complex ways. Od was so lovely to read, and slowly getting to see the different pieces of her story as the book went on was really well done and kept me reading. I also absolutely adored Tru, she was such an intelligent and strong, but also realistic, character and her journey was just so good. I also really loved the rest of their family that we see throughout the book, their individual stories and personalities just brought so much to the story. The importance placed on finding people that believe in you and support you no matter what was really special as well.

A couple themes throughout all of her books that really shone in this one are the use of paranormal aspects to tell a story, and that you really shouldn’t count on men because they’re pretty much trash. Honestly there’s always a point in her books where I need to put it down for a few minutes because I get so angry with almost all the male characters and this one is no different. I don’t see this as a fault though, it really just highlights the importance of surrounding yourself with women that love and support you, especially when men are being dumb! And the paranormal aspects are always some of my favourites and I think this one is my favourite so far. The plot of monster hunting to bring the sisters together and as a way to look into the past was so well done. There’s also a point in every Cat Witners book where you realize that the plot twists are coming and that they are going to be good and this one was no different. I had to stop for about 20 minutes because I needed to prepare myself but it was so worth it.

If you’re looking for an easy to read, fast paced and emotion historical fiction story with aspects of the paranormal, that has a really great ending then I’d definitely recommend this one! I read it in one sitting and I can’t wait for her next release.

5 thoughts on “Review: Odd & True by Cat Winters”

Leave a comment