Uncategorized

Review: This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher

Untitled 11.png40680043
ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: This Lie Will Kill You
Author: Chelsea Pitcher
Publication Date: December 11, 2018
Pages: 320
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

“One year ago, there was a party.
At the party, someone died.
Five teens each played a part and up until now, no one has told the truth.

But tonight, the five survivors arrive at an isolated mansion in the hills, expecting to compete in a contest with a $50,000 grand prize. Of course…some things are too good to be true. They were each so desperate for the prize, they didn’t question the odd, rather exclusive invitation until it was too late.

Now, they realize they’ve been lured together by a person bent on revenge, a person who will stop at nothing to uncover what actually happened on that deadly night, one year ago.

Five arrived, but not all can leave. Will the truth set them free?
Or will their lies destroy them all?”

It’s taken me so long to write this review, and that’s honestly because my thoughts on this one are a bit all over the place. It’s been a month since reading it but I’m still so confused. I definitely didn’t hate it, but I also didn’t love it, and I keep going back and forth on which side of the scale I’m leaning closer towards. We’re gonna try and sum up my thoughts though so please bare with me.

One thing that I can for sure say I didn’t like about this one was the characters. I will say that I don’t know if i was supposed to like any of them or not, but the only one that I actually had any patience for was Ruby since I think she’s the only one that’s actually a victim in here. The rest of them were just…bad. Other than the obvious bad guys, who you hate from the moment you meet them, the rest of them were just pretty shitty people. And their motives were awful and the secrets they kept were awful and I don’t know, maybe I need to read more thrillers but wow I hated the lot of them. I will say that they were somewhat compelling to read, and although that kept me turning the pages once I was done the book I was just left feeling very bleh about them all.

The thing that was done best in this book, for me, was the storyline. The premise was intriguing and kept you reading and all the plot twists that are thrown at you throughout the book keep you guessing. I can’t tell you if this book is anything revolutionary since again, I don’t read many thrillers, but I found it to be an interesting story and the twists did surprise me. It was also a pretty dark read, I know that probably goes with the genre, but for me it was just kind of uncomfortable to read at times. And that’s not a knock against the book because it was totally the point and it was well done, just personal preference. But it did leave a bad taste in my mouth and still makes me sad when I think about it. Definite trigger warnings for physical abuse, mental abuse, stalking and probably more things that I’m blanking because damn this was a book.

So there we have it. I thought that actually writing this would help me out a bit but apparently not because I’m still confused. This was a fast paced and fairly easy to read book full of plot twists, but you do need to deal with characters that are awful and some dread filled scenes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher”

  1. Interesting review! This one is on my TBR but I’m a little skeptical about it. I read Chelsea Pitcher’s other novel, The S Word, and it was honestly a bit all over the place. Hopefully this one will be more cohesive. YA are usually very hot or miss for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment